Traditional Restaurant Rouen

Le Veau d’Or

Le Veau d’Or | Rouen

No pagan connotation in the name of the restaurant. You will not adore any statue or idol, but simply the quality of the traditional dishes that will be served to you, as well as the welcome lavished. This institution was created in 1948 by the Letessier family, located at that time in front of the slaughterhouses, it was the meeting place for horse-dealers who came to choose their animals on foot, before coming in the morning to eat tripe and calf heads. .

This tradition continues since every 3rd Thursday of each month, the 9am meeting in the guts continues to take place. It should be noted that the restaurant is the regional repository of the very famous "tripière d'or" Caennaise brotherhood.

The establishment is considered the Rouen institution of meat and offal, the reputation of the gribiche sauce is well established. A cellar full of wines at a reasonable price range, allows you to harmoniously match meats, cheeses and desserts. Without in any way denying the traditional side, the new team offers daily starters and less conventional dishes, made using products from our menu.

The entire Golden Calf team, gathered around Rodérick Etienne and Vivien Douet, will work to satisfy your taste buds as much as your requests, especially concerning groups, company or family meals.

Menus

General information


Cuisine

Traditional French, Fresh products, Homemade

Business type

Traditional Restaurant

Services

Terrace, Private Hire

Payment methods

Debit Card, Visa, Cash, Eurocard/Mastercard

Opening hours


Mon - Wed

12:00 - 15:00

Thu - Fri

12:00 - 15:00 19:00 - 22:00

Sat - Sun

Closed

Contact us


Contact us

Restaurant Le Veau d'Or - Rouen (76)

Le Veau d'Or

Aucune connotation païenne dans le nom du restaurant. Vous n'adorerez aucune statue, aucune idole, mais simplement la qualité des plats traditionnels qui vous seront servis, ainsi que l'accueil prodigué. Cette institution a été créée en 1948 par la Famille Letessier, située à cette époque en face des abattoirs, elle était le rendez vous des maquignons qui venaient choisir, sur pied, leurs animaux, avant dans la matinée de venir manger tripes et têtes de veaux. 

Cette tradition perdure puisque tous les 3ème  jeudis de chaque mois, le rendez vous de 9h du matin aux tripes continue à avoir lieu. Il faut noter que le restaurant est le dépôt régional de la très célèbre "tripière d'or" confrérie Caennaise.

L'établissement est considéré comme l'institution rouennaise des viandes et abats, la réputation de la sauce gribiche n'est plus à faire. Une cave étoffée de vins dans une gamme de prix raisonnable, permet d'assortir harmonieusement viandes, fromages et desserts.  Sans aucunement renier le côté traditionnel, la nouvelle équipe propose journellement des entrées et des plats moins conventionnels, réalisés sur des bases de produits de notre carte.

Toute l'équipe du veau d'or regroupé autour de Rodérick Etienne et de Vivien Douet s'attellera a satisfaire vos papilles autant que que vos demandes, notamment concernant les groupes, repas d'entreprise ou familiaux. 

Au plaisir de vous voir dans nos murs.